katietokathryn

Food Fight?

Posted on: September 28, 2011

I must admit, I am quite proud of myself tonight…I decided I wanted to make enchiladas for dinner before I even ate my lunch today. (Anyone else think of their next meal before or while they’re eating their current one??) So I started googling for recipes and searching blogs. I found several recipes for creamy enchiladas, several for tomato red enchiladas, several for sour cream enchis, but I was looking for some sort of combination of all of them. So for the first time in my cooking journey I did not follow a cookie cutter recipe. Like I said, I am quite proud of myself.

I started by cutting 3 chicken breasts into small pieces and cooking them in a skillet with olive oil over medium heat.

Once cooked I shredded/cut them into even smaller pieces. I added half of a 14 oz can of mild red enchilada sauce and let that heat up

After a few minutes, I added 2 big handfuls (about 1 cup) of shredded reduced fat mexican 4 cheese blend. I left them get all gooey and stirred it in. I then added a couple dallops of light sour cream and mixed that in. This was my filling…. my mouth was watering by this point. Of course I had to do a taste test, which then translated to me eating several spoonfuls of the cheesey ooey gooey yumness.

I used 10 whole wheat flour tortillas (soft taco size,) placed a hefty amount of filling on the end of each, rolled them tightly, and placed them in a casserole dish. I then added the rest of the enchilada sauce to the skillet, added another cup of the cheese, some more sour cream and recreated the filling minus the chicken. I poured this over the rolled enchis.

Then topped with even more cheese. Obviously necessary.

Baked it in a 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes and they were done. We loved them!!! It was a great success. I ate mine along side some zucchini slices roasted in olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. W covered his in hot sauce. We are both very full now.

On a side note, I would love to know why it is not possible for me to cook ANYTHING without my kitchen looking like a bomb went off. I get so frazzled that pots, pans, spoons, sauce, water, spices all end up going everything. I wanted to take a picture. But it was embarrassing. Hmph.

Making a meal without following a cookie cutter recipe…..Check.

Making a meal without looking like a food fight went down….Maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • katietokathryn: yes you did-- I give you full credit!!!
  • Will Deibler: I made the tacos!!! haha
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

