katietokathryn

Homemade Pasta and Pumpkin Ale

Posted on: October 3, 2011

How do you beat a case of the mondays- particularly a cold, rainy Monday? Homemade pasta and pumpkin ale, of course!

When William suggested making our own pasta today after seeing how easy the process was on an episode of diner, drive-ins, and dives this weekend, I enthusiastically agreed! The weather today was absolutely BLAH. Somehow the lovely fall weather has gone missing and an ugly winter day came in its place. Weren’t we just sweating in the 90’s last weekend? Oh that’s right. We were. We stopped by the grocery store and as we gathered supplies we spotted some blue moon pumpkin ale. We picked up a 6 pack.

*Hiding my nails because I desperately need a manicure.. Eck!

Of course being the control freak I am, I wanted to find a recipe to follow. W took my phone and didn’t allow it! He said we needed to just go with it and experiment. He wins….this time. We mixed a couple handfuls of flour, 3 egg yolks about 6 regular eggs. I should mention we made FAR too much so this mixture should’ve been reduced big time. We mixed this into a big ball of “dough”

We are obviously children and if you put flour in front of us, we will throw it at eachothers face.

We also made some meatballs to go with our pasta. We mixed ground beef with some Italian breadcrumbs, an agg, and some grated parmesan cheese.

We rolled out the dough using a canned good since we don’t own a pasta maker. Or even a rolling pin. Hey, it’s about improvising, right!? And William cut noodles out of the dough.

He then took over. Don’t hate, my man can cook! He boiled the noodles and heated up a can of traditional marinara sauce (and added some light cream to it.) My smile could not have been any bigger when he presented me with my plate.


Homemade noodles, creamy tomato sauce, meatballs and garlic bread. Oh my! 😀

Will made a perfect dinner and it was so delicious…I hope we start making our own fresh noodles more often. You can absolutely taste the difference. Now time to go enjoy another pumpkin ale and watch the Monday Night Football game! Can’t believe I leave for my first work trip in 2 days. Very nervous :-/

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • katietokathryn: yes you did-- I give you full credit!!!
  • Will Deibler: I made the tacos!!! haha
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

