katietokathryn

low carbing + 2011 Marine Corps Ball

Posted on: November 9, 2011

Hello friends!

The weekend flew by! [Per usual] and I actually can’t believe tomorrow is Thursday! It’s my last work day of the week; I have Friday off for Veteran’s Day. William surprised me with a trip to *Charlottesville* this weekend, aka my favorite place in the entire world. He got us tickets to the football game and we’re hopefully gonna do some of my favorite fall activities there.. a la hiking, wine tasting, eating my favorite cville college foods. I can’t wait! Will had class at the University of Maryland tonight, and I didn’t want to be bored at home, so I came with him and have just been hanging around campus, playing on the internet in the lib, pretending I’m in college again. I can’t help but feel for these kids who are cramming material into their minds. I’ve spotted a few Chemistry and Physics textbooks…don’t miss those long nights studying one bit!

I wanted to share with you guys the dinners we had last week as we finished out the week low carb style. Low carb is not easy for me. Normally, I definitely eat my fair share of carbs, so I spent a lot of last week feeling a bit sluggish and tired. I’m not going to lie though, you definitely drop some lbs. It’s just not exactly a realistic way of eating for me, so I’m excited to be back to my normal eating. I am going to try to start making some healthier eating choices while still enjoying all the food groups (including my beloved carbs!) We ate a lot of meat this week, for example:

Steak, shrimpies, zuccs

Thursday night I was browsing Pinterest, looking for a recipe to peak my interest (get it…Pinterest, interest… Ha. Ha.)

[Side note: If you haven’t discovered the amazingness that is pinterest, please check it out ASAP! For anyone who loves cooking, baking, home decorating, wedding planning, the holidays or just *pretty* things in general, you will be obsessed in approx 4.2 seconds so please check it out!]

I have always had a soft spot for Cracker Barrel. I loved stopping during a road trip down 95 and getting some good comfort food. I’ve always thought their grilled chicken tenders were amazing, so when I spotted a replica recipe for them on pinterest, I immediately knew what we’d be eating. And wait until you hear the recipe…it is so. simple.

First start by making the marinade and combine 1 cup zesty italian dressing, 2 teaspoons of fresh lime juice, and 3 teaspoons of honey in a large ziplock bag. Add about a pound of boneless chicken tenders or breasts and let the tenders marinate for at least an hour in the fridge……[wait patiently]…. When your ready dump the entire bag [marinade and all] into a skillet and cook over medium heat. It should look something like this:

Let the tenders cook for about 30 minutes and let the marinade mixture reduce. Once the mixture starts to brown, move the chicken around a lot with a spatula and get all the good flavor bits to cover the chicken (such advanced terminology, i know.) After another 5-10 minutes, you should have delicious, flavorful chicken!

I must admit while the flavor on the chicken was great, they were a little dry to my liking (and W’s) so next time I’d probably reduce the heat and maybe not put as much marinade in so it doesn’t take as long to reduce.

Saturday night we had Will’s last Marine Corps Ball. We had a great time with some great friends! [Probably too much fun, it was a little hard to get out of bed on Sunday morning] I’ll leave you with some pics from the night:

How handsome is my man in uniform!

With some of Will’s buddies

With my baby sissy Jenny Mae!

Big smiles with my love<3

Stay tuned for some more recipes that I made from pinterest this week, specifically *Red velvet cheesecake brownies* Um, yeah.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • katietokathryn: yes you did-- I give you full credit!!!
  • Will Deibler: I made the tacos!!! haha
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

