katietokathryn

Short work weeks make me smile

Posted on: November 21, 2011

HOORAY for Thanksgiving week to finally be here! I am only 3 (technically 2 and 1/2) work days away from a fabulous weekend with family, friends, and food. Several of my extended family members are coming into town but the person I’m most excited to see is my sister Maggie! I tried a new veggie side dish last week and loved it so much that I’m thinking about bringing it to our turkey day celebration. It is a martha stewart recipe I found online.

 

*Zucchini and Yellow Squash Gratin*

2 tablespoons butter

2 medium zucchini, sliced crosswide, 1/4 in thick

2 medium yellow squash, sliced crosswide, 1/4 in thinck

2 shallots, minced

salt & pepper

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 cup panko breadcrumbs

1/2 cup grated parmesean cheese

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. In a large skillet, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the zuccs, squash, shallots, and garlic. Season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until veggies are crisp and tender (4-6 min.)

Next add the cream and cook until it thickens (about 5 min.) Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in 1/2 cup of the panko breadcrumbs and 1 cup of parm cheese.

Spoon entire mix into a baking dish, sprinkle with remaining panko and parm cheese. Season with salt and pepper and bake until the top is golden brown, about 8-10 min. Enjoy!

*Side note: When I made this, I sauteed the veggies for too long. The flavor and taste was still good but the veggies were too mushy. Next time I will saute them only briefly first.

Saturday was Will’s sister’s birthday party, so we had her and few of her friends over for drinks before. I made her a special birthday martini, complete with a vanilla frosting + sprinkles martini rim! I can’t believe I forgot to take a picture.. but it looked something like this (minus candle + whip cream):

That picture is from http://sipsetc.blogspot.com/ and is where I got the idea from. The matrini included cake flavored vodka, pineapple juice, and cranberry juice!

W and I ate out wayyyyyy too much this week/weekend. (I’m talking like every night.) So our plan this week leading up to thanksgiving is make every meal in and give our budget (and waistlines) a break. Tonight the game plan is soup and sammies. I’m debating whether I should be lazy and buy canned soup or challenge myself to some homemade tomato soup. It doesn’t look too expensive to make so I’m leaning towards trying it!

Also, I never posted about, but W and I went to Charlottesville, VA 2 weekends ago. He surprised me with *2ND ROW* tickets to the UVA football game vs. Duke! We had the best weekend and enjoyed the game (HOOS WIN!) wine tasting, beer tasting, apple picking (kind of) and everything else Charlottesville has to offer. I’ll leave you with some pics from the trip!

2nd row at the game

Beer Sampling at Blue Mountain Brewery. He's so excited!!!

Carter Mountain Orchard

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • katietokathryn: yes you did-- I give you full credit!!!
  • Will Deibler: I made the tacos!!! haha
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

