katietokathryn

Lurve weight

Posted on: November 29, 2011

It happens to the best of us… You meet that special someone…They sweep you off your feet…You start going on dates, eating out constantly…you skip working out to cuddle and gaze into their eyes.. and then you realize that the lurve (aka Love.) weight has started to tip the scale.

"I have what doctors call a little bit of a weight problem"

Can you still call it lurve weight if you’ve been together for well over a year?? Maybe you’re not supposed to, BUT I AM. It’s no secret that Will and I love food and eating. Since the beginning of our relationship this was a constant thing. The not so constant thing = never performing any physical exercise + loving food + hitting the cheese fries/ranch a little too hard. We used to go to the gym together several times a week post work. When you combine these things, the lurve weight begins to pack. The truth is, I just don’t feel very good. I enjoy running and working out, and I am absolutely ready to incorporate it back into my life. Will and I have had this discussion for a few weeks now. We have been wanting to change up our routine and start regularly working out, while still enjoying the foods we love. Today was a positive step in the right direction! We finally woke our booties up bright and early, and went for a run PRE work. I think this will be the key for William and I, working out BEFORE work. It felt amazing to run (by amazing I mean during the run I thought I was going to die.) So hopefully we will continue with our morning run plan tomorrow. Post run, we had egg-ritos with 1 egg + 1 egg white, cheese, and salsa all wrapped up in a wheat tortilla.

Last night for din we had some faux-fried foods. Both recipes were delicious individually, though I will not pair them together next time. We had baked chicken tenders with crispy zucchini, served with homemade (THAT’S RIGHT PEOPLE, HOMEMADE) ranch!

For the tenders, I soaked the chicken in buttermilk for about 2 hours. I then put together a mix of panko bread crumbs, regular bread crumbs, wheat flour, salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and italian cheese. I dipped the tenders in the mix and shook them up to get them nice and coated. I then placed them on a make shift wire baking pan (cooking sheet + 2 cooling racks) and sprayed them with cooking spray before baking them in a 450 degree oven for 24 minutes (flipped halfway through.)

Bake Me!

 

nom nom nom

For the crispy zucchini (which was definitely the star of the show I might add..) I first sliced up two zucchinis into 4 inch pieces.

I then shook them up in plastic baggy of wheat flour. Next they took a dip in an egg bath, followed by a jump into the coating mix… this one contained panko bread crumbs, salt, pepper, garlic powder and cayenne pepper.

I baked these bad boys for 20 minutes. They were delicious! soft on the inside and crispy on the out. We will definitely be making these again soon.

The ranch was something I randomly decided to make when I realized I had almost all of the ingredients. It is healthier than bottled ranch and all I had to pick up from the store was chives and parsley! I set out all my ingredients and grabbed the blender.

low fat mayo, low fat sour cream, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, chives, parsley, salt and pepper thrown into the blender

then add the buttermilk, a little at a time, until its the consistency you’re looking for (in my case, wanted a dip more than a dressing)

It turned out great! Especially with chicken tender and zucchini dippers.

That’s all for now! I’m running an errand with my baby sister and then meeting one of my besties for dinner tonight so no elaborate cooking planned. I begged William for froyo all night yesterday, and he finally agreed 😀 so I have half of it waiting for me when I get home tonight. Talk about a good day!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • katietokathryn: yes you did-- I give you full credit!!!
  • Will Deibler: I made the tacos!!! haha
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

