katietokathryn

New English Foods

Posted on: December 29, 2011

Over the Christmas break, William’s aunt, uncle and cousins were here visiting from England! W’s mom is British, and he was actually born there and is a dual citizen. (*Sidenote: we are hoping to visit them in London this summer during the Olympics!*) We had a blast spending time with them, and an added bonus was that his aunt is an excellent cook. I got to try some new foods over Christmas that I learned I love! Here’s a quick rundown of the new foods on my approved list:

 

Parsnips: slightly sweet! My new favorite root perhaps! These will be making an appearance into my diet in the future

Yorkshire pudding: a delicious bread, I didn’t even touch the french bread after tasting one of these

Pastitsio: this is actually a greek dish that W’s family makes all the time. It involves pasta, a ground beef mixture, and a bechamel sauce on top and is baked

Christmas pudding….with brandy butter: This was so. freaking. delicious. Essentially it is a dried pudding mixture with raisins and dried fruit in it. I could have eaten the brandy butter by itself with a spoon. Remind me why it can’t be christmas everyday? (For the brandy butter alone.)

We had a great time with the fam! *Don’t mind the sombreros… These came out after a full day of mimosas followed by several rounds of drinking games

Leave a Reply

  • katietokathryn: yes you did-- I give you full credit!!!
  • Will Deibler: I made the tacos!!! haha
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

