katietokathryn

healthified gus burgers

Posted on: September 21, 2011

Tonight’s dinner was deeeelicious! But back to that in a sec..

I am not the most exciting breakfast eater. Since I’m always late (to everything in life…) I am usually in quite the rush in the morning. My breakfasts need to be quick and portable. This mornings breakfy fit all my needs. I made a quick egg sammy with one scrambled egg and provolone cheese on a light english muffin. I wrapped it in a paper towel and munched on it on my ride into work. Very satisfying!

Lunch was a boring turkey sandwich. It was dinner that stole the spotlight today.

As I mentioned before, I am trying to learn how to cook. However, Will is quite the cook. So when he offers to take the reigns on making dinner, I definitely do not complain. The plan tonight was to make turkey burgers! Since we needed to eat the avocados that were about to go bad, Will mixed up some homemade guacamole for us to enjoy as an appetizer.


While W made the burgers I roasted some zucchini with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in the oven. We also made some rice in our *new* rice cooker. I’m not a big white rice fan so I passed. We ate our turkey burgers on whole wheat buns with cheese (manchego for me, cheddar for W.) At the last minute W fried an egg for each of our burgers. Um amazing.


At UVA, there is a restaurant called the White Spot near all the bars.

https://i0.wp.com/farm5.static.flickr.com/4028/4406756803_7229a46276.jpg

The white spot is known for its burgers topped with a fried egg called the Gus burger. The white spot is also open until 4am. Ha. Lets just say I had several gus burgers around closing time back in my UVA days. But I must say….I would take tonight’s healthified version of the gus burger any day. Especially when prepared by a seski boyfriend 😀

Oh yes, and dinner was early tonight, which is very unusual for us. (Our average time before we moved in together was 9pm. Tonight we were done eating by 7. Weird.) So of course, dessert was necessary. Fro zen yo = best self serve frozen yogurt.

Strawberry + Cheesecake swirl froyo topped with choco chips, rainbow sprinkles, crushed oreos, whip cream, hot fudge. I die.

 

Leave a comment


  • None
  • katietokathryn: yes you did-- I give you full credit!!!
  • Will Deibler: I made the tacos!!! haha
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories